Forward Planning

The Forward Planning section deals with the production of the planning policy documents for Waterford.

It plans for the proper planning and sustainable development of the county, to promote and facilitate the development of sustainable communities and enterprise, and to ensure the protection of the natural and built heritage and amenity of the county.

The main policy documents are the Development Plans and the Local Area Plans. These set out the planning policies for the county, individual towns, villages or settlements.

The forward planning section also has responsibility for the Renewable Energy Strategy.

Development Plans – Extension of Lifetime
On 1st June 2014, Waterford City & County Council was established following the amalgamation of Waterford City Council and Waterford County Council. The three existing development plans within the amalgamated Council area, Waterford City Development Plan 2013 – 2019, Waterford County Development Plan 2011 – 2017, & the Dungarvan Town Development Plan 2012 – 2018, will have their lifetime extended, as per Section 11A of the Planning & Development Act 2000 (as amended) and will remain in effect until the new Regional Spatial & Economic Strategy is made by the Southern Regional Assembly, thereafter a new City and County Development Plan will be prepared.

Section 11B of the Planning & Development Act 2000 (as amended) requires Local Authorities which have been subject to amalgamation, in this instance Waterford City & County Council, to commence the preparation of a development plan for the amalgamated administrative area within 12 months of the making of the Regional Spatial & Economic Strategy.

Waterford City & County Council may make variations to the existing development plans where it is deemed necessary and as needs arise in terms of policy amendments. Details of all adopted and proposed variations can be found on this website.

Copyright © Waterford City & County Council